2017 CATSPY Awards Set for April 24 in Memorial Coliseum

LEXINGTON, Ky. – The 15th annual CATSPY Awards, celebrating the 2016-17 athletics year at the University of Kentucky, will be held Monday, April 24 in Memorial Coliseum.

The awards ceremony begins at 7 p.m., with doors opening at 6:30 p.m. The public is invited.

Tickets for the CATSPY Awards cost $5 each and may be purchased online or at the UK Athletics Ticket Office (Joe Craft Center). All seating is general admission for the event and all persons must have a ticket to enter, regardless of age.

The general public will enter through the Lexington Avenue entrance of Memorial Coliseum. Public parking will be available in the E lot on the west side (Lexington Avenue) of the Joe Craft Center. Additional parking will be available in parking structure No. 5, located near Kennedy’s Book Store.

A spin-off of the popular ESPY Awards held each year by ESPN, the CATSPY Awards feature individual and team honors, chosen from UK’s 22 varsity sports. The event is dedicated to celebrating the nearly 500 student-athletes that represent Kentucky. Videos of the nominees in each category are shown, and UK student-athletes and head coaches serve as presenters.

This year, nominees for select awards are being announced in advance. They are as follows:

Female Athlete of the Year

  • Jasmine Camacho-Quinn (track and field)
  • Ashley Dusek (volleyball)
  • Makayla Epps (women’s basketball)
  • Isabelle Johansson (women’s golf)
  • Mollie Korth (gymnastics)
  • Katy Kunc (track and field/cross country)
  • Meagan Prince (softball)
  • Sha’Keela Saunders (track and field)
  • Asia Seidt (swimming and diving)
  • Aldila Sutjiadi (women’s tennis)

Male Athlete of the Year

  • Nick Anderson (track and field)
  • Tim Duckworth (track and field)
  • Napo Matsoso (men’s soccer)
  • Tyler “Chip” McDaniel (men’s golf)
  • Malik Monk (men’s basketball)
  • Jacob Thomson (track and field/cross country)
  • Jon Toth (football)
  • Evan White (baseball)

Female Rookie of the Year

  • Jasmine Camacho-Quinn (track and field)
  • Abbey Cheek (softball)
  • Leah Edmond (volleyball)
  • Mollie Korth (gymnastics)
  • Katie Reed (softball)
  • Asia Seidt (swimming and diving)
  • Evangeline Soucie (women’s soccer)

Male Rookie of the Year

  • De’Aaron Fox (men’s basketball)
  • Sean Hjelle (baseball)
  • Malik Monk (men’s basketball)
  • Benny Snell (football)
  • JJ Williams (men’s soccer)

Supporting Role

  • Matthew Beach (swimming and diving)
  • Laura Connor (women’s soccer)
  • Stuart Ford (men’s soccer)
  • Ali Galyer (swimming and diving)
  • Dominique Hawkins (men’s basketball)
  • Cathryn Papasodora (rifle)
  • Hailey Poland (gymnastics)
  • Shannon Smith (softball)

Scratch Award (given to a non-scholarship student-athlete whose effort is representative of playing for the “love of the game”)

  • Ryan Creel (men’s soccer)
  • Danaea Davis (gymnastics)
  • Sam Day (swimming and diving)
  • Harper Hempel (volleyball)
  • Caroline McCaslin (track/cross country)
  • Ayanna Parker (women’s soccer)
  • Paige Poffenberger (women’s basketball)

The following awards will also be given out:

  • Mr. Wildcat
  • Miss Wildcat
  • Team of the Year
  • Coach of the Year
  • Blue Heart Award
  • Scholar-Athlete of the Year
  • Academic Team of the Year
  • Heart of a Wildcat
  • Community Service
  • Bill Keightley Assist

Leave a Reply