Four Wildcats to Participate in NBA Orlando Pro Summer League

Alex Poythress  (Vicky Graff Photo)

Alex Poythress (Vicky Graff Photo)

LEXINGTON, Ky. – Former Kentucky men’s basketball players Aaron Harrison, Dakari Johnson, Alex Poythress and Marquis Teague will play in the NBA’s Orlando Pro Summer League.

Harrison (2014-15) will play for the Charlotte Hornets, Johnson (2014-15) will suit up the Oklahoma City Thunder, Poythress (2013-16) will join the Orlando Magic Blue team and Teague (2012) will play for the Dallas Mavericks.

The Orlando league will be one week, spanning 25 games. The games begin Saturday.

Summer league rosters for the Utah league (July 4-7) and the Las Vegas league (July 8-18) will be announced at a later time. 

The NBA summer leagues are an important time of the year for professional players to either earn a free-agent contract, solidify their spot on an NBA roster, or develop and earn additional playing time for the NBA regular season.

UK had another three players (Jamal Murray, Skal Labissiere and Tyler Ulis) selected in the 2016 NBA Draft, boosting the Wildcats’ totals to 28 players drafted in the seven-year John Caliapri era.

The Orlando summer league will feature two Magic squads along with the Charlotte Hornets, Dallas Mavericks, Detroit Pistons, Indiana Pacers, Los Angeles Clippers, Miami Heat, New York Knicks and Oklahoma City Thunder.

Fans can access box scores, game recaps and cumulative statistics at NBA TV will air 24 of the 25 summer league games live.

Leave a Reply