SEC has 7 teams in NCAA tourney, but UK not one of them

BIRMINGHAM, Ala.—–Seven Southeastern Conference teams were selected to compete for the 2016 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, according to an announcement Monday by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. Four teams from the SEC – Florida, Texas A&M, Mississippi State and LSU – were selected as national seeds. This marks the first time any conference has earned four national seeds.

The top eight national seeds are Florida, Louisville, Miami, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Mississippi State, Clemson and LSU.

SEC schools earning bids include Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Texas A&M and Vanderbilt. All seven SEC schools – an NCAA record – will serve as hosts sites for NCAA Regional play.

Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be played Friday, June 3 to Monday, June 6 (if necessary).

The 70th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.


  1. UK baseball needs an overhaul, they are choke city. Not sure Henderson is the right man for the job. They were a big disappointment.

    1. Agree. Got to make hard evaluation

Leave a Reply