Breanna Ray named to Academic All-District Team

LEXINGTON, Ky. – For the second consecutive season, Kentucky junior outfielder Breanne Ray was named to the first team of the 2016 College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) Academic All-District Team on Thursday afternoon. She is one of just eight players from the Southeastern Conference to be placed on the all-district teams.

Ray is the sixth Kentucky softball player under Rachel Lawson’s tenure to be named Academic All-District, joining Meagan Aull (2011), Kara Dill (2013), Griffin Joiner (2014, 15), Lauren Cumbess (2014), and Emily Gaines (2014) and joins Joiner as the only players from UK to ever win the honor two times in their careers. Aull is the only CoSIDA Academic All-American in program history, back in 2011.

Ray is Kentucky’s everyday right fielder, starting in 29 of the 39 games she has played in this season for the Blue and White. The Benton, Ky., native is batting .221 on the season with 17 hits, five doubles and two home runs. The junior had home runs in back-to-back games this year, including a walk-off homer against Northern Kentucky to give the Wildcats a 9-0 run-rule win over the Norse in five innings.

Just completing her junior year of academics this week in Lexington, Ray is a disorders major and has a GPA of 3.987 in the classroom. She has been named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll every year eligible at Kentucky.

Representatives from the SEC on the All-District First Teams include: Chandler Dare, Sydney Littlejohn and Haylie McCleney of Alabama; Kasey Cooper of Auburn; Kayli Kvistad of Florida; Breanne Ray of Kentucky; Emily Crane of Missouri; and Kaylea Snaer of South Carolina.

The Academic All-District™ teams are divided into eight geographic districts across the United States and Canada. This is the fifth year of the expanded Academic All-America® program as CoSIDA moved from recognizing a University Division (Division I) and a College Division (all non-Division I) and has doubled the number of scholar-athletes honored. The expanded teams include NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III participants, while the College Division Academic All-America® Team combines NAIA, Canadian and two-year schools.

First-team Academic All-District™ honorees advance to the CoSIDA Academic All-America® Team ballot, where first-, second- and third-team All-America honorees will be selected later this month.

CoSIDA Academic All-District 2 – First Team

P – Amanda Fazio, Bucknell (3.72)

P – Carolyn Szymanski, Delaware (3.76)

C – Carolyn Wright, Lehigh (3.97)

INF – Morgan Decker, Lehigh (3.73)

INF – Sidney Melton, Louisville (3.93)

INF – Jessica Twaddle, Murray State (3.96)

INF – Alexis Watanabe, Lehigh (3.82)

OF – Breanne Ray, Kentucky (3.98)

OF – Kendra Heyer, LaSalle (4.00)

OF – Valerie Suto, Seton Hall (3.82)


Kentucky will open a three-game series on Friday with Mississippi State at 6 p.m. ET on Friday night at John Cropp Stadium.

Leave a Reply