Jamal Murray, Tyler Ulis finalists for prestigious national awards

Tyler Ulis (Vicky Graff Photo)

Tyler Ulis (Vicky Graff Photo)

ST. LOUIS (USBWA) – The U.S. Basketball Writers Association announced today finalists for the USBWA’s Oscar Robertson Trophy as the men’s national player of the year and the USBWA’s Integris Wayman Tisdale Award for the men’s national freshman of the year.

The finalists’ lists include 11 players for the men’s player of the year and five players for the men’s freshman of the year. Three players from the Atlantic Coast Conference headline the Oscar Robertson Trophy list, including Virginia’s Malcolm Brogdon, a finalist from a season ago. Iowa State’s Georges Niang, one of two Big 12 players tabbed, is also a repeat finalist. Kentucky and Duke have finalists on both lists.

Ben Simmons, LSU’s standout freshman, is the only player selected to both lists for men’s player of the year and freshman of the year.

Voting for the awards is conducted by members of the USBWA. The USBWA is comprised of over 900 sports journalists covering college basketball for newspapers, magazines and websites.

The USBWA player and freshman of the year awards will be presented on April 11 at the College Basketball Awards gala and dinner at the National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum in Oklahoma City. Also presented at the dinner will be the Henry Iba Coach of the Year Award, and the Wayman Tisdale Humanitarian Award presented by Love’s Travel Stops and the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award for the women’s national player of the year.

Following is the complete list of finalists:

Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
G Grayson Allen, Duke 6-5 205 So. Jacksonville, Fla.
G Malcolm Brogdon, Virginia 6-5 215 Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
G Kris Dunn, Providence 6-4 220 Jr. New London, Conn.
G Buddy Hield, Oklahoma 6-4 214 Sr. Freeport, Bahamas
F Brice Johnson, North Carolina 6-10 230 Sr. Orangeburg, S.C.
F Georges Niang, Iowa State 6-8 230 Sr. Methuen, Mass.
F Jakob Poeltl, Utah 7-0 248 So. Vienna, Austria
F Ben Simmons, LSU 6-10 240 Fr. Melbourne, Australia
G Tyler Ulis, Kentucky 5-9 160 So. Chicago, Ill.
F Jarrod Uthoff, Iowa 6-9 221 Sr. Cedar Rapids, Iowa
G Denzel Valentine, Michigan State 6-5 220 Sr. Lansing, Mich.
By conference: ACC (3); Big 12 (2); Big Ten (2) SEC (2); Big East (1); Pac-12 (1).
By class: Seniors (6); Juniors (1); Sophomores (3); Freshmen (1).
Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown
F Jaylen Brown, California 6-7 225 Fr. Marietta, Ga.
F Henry Ellenson, Marquette 6-11 245 Fr. Rice Lake, Wis.
G/F Brandon Ingram, Duke 6-9 190 Fr. Kinston, N.C.
G Jamal Murray, Kentucky 6-4 207 Fr. Kitchener, Ont.
G Ben Simmons, LSU 6-10 240 Fr. Melbourne, Australia

While these standout players are the leading contenders to be named to the USBWA’s All-America Team, all Division I players remain eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. The association will announce its 2016 All-America Team in mid-March. Ballots for this season’s USBWA men’s honors were distributed to the entire membership today.

Here’s a link to the awards page:


1 ping

  1. […] and senior curator of the Mistake Room in Los Angeles, to go on studio visits with the five finalists early next month. Each winner will receive […]

Leave a Reply